General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.

1968 brake issue - slow pedal

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2010, 08:18 PM
FoMoFo

Default 1968 brake issue - slow pedal

I have a 1968 fastback that I converted the rear brakes to discs. I have a gm proportioning valve (long story, but its for front and rear discs and its connected correctly with the right fittings). I have a 68 master cylinder and booster.
The brake feels PERFECT when the car is off. When the car is running, the brake pedal is too soft and it takes too long to come back up.
I have bled the lines a thousand times, replaced the master, and the p.valve. And every brake line. No leaks, and the problem won't go away.

I'm convinced that I need a better master cylinder and booster. Can a modern mustang M/C and booster be installed? Is there something at the Ford dealership that I can get quick so I don't have to order online and wait?

Please help! Thanks!
Old 02-03-2010, 05:55 PM
MustangBradley
2nd Gear Member

I found this at Summit. Order it with FedEx shipping and you'll have it tomorrow. The dealer is closed now.

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/SSB-A28150/
Old 02-04-2010, 11:21 AM
FoMoFo

the master that I have on there is a 1" bore. I think I need one with a 1 1/8" bore. Like this one:
http://www.mpbrakes.com/products/pro...product_id=160

I have a turbocharged 331 Dart block with AFR heads and and Eagle Crank and this CAM:
http://www.compperformancegroupstore...Category_Code=
I was told that this cam may be affecting the vacuum of the booster. Can anyone vouch for that statement?????
Old 02-04-2010, 09:06 PM
MustangBradley
2nd Gear Member

Your cam could very well have an effect on your vacuum. Often on cars with extreme cams, they will have a large vacuum tank to 'store' vacuum to use when needed.