Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

Staggered setup, grip questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2013, 01:53 PM
WiffleballTony

Default Staggered setup, grip questions

Hi All,
I understand this has probably been discussed at length many times. However, after my extensive searchings of the interwebs I was unable to locate the answer to my question(s). So please be gentle.

I'm a novice, so bear with me. I purchased a 2012 GT and have consequently added some power mods to it. However at this point the car is overwhelming the stock wheels and tires the car came with 18x8 (235/50ZR18). As such I am looking to regain traction. I also wanted to change the wheels so I could fit bigger brakes and probably save some unsprung weight. I am leaning towards the Enkei PF01s. My initial idea was to go 255/45-18s up front and 285/40-18s in the back.

I plan on taking this car to the track in a few years (I do not currently), I also plan on doing some suspension upgrades in the future as well. So the question(s) are:
1) Understeer will be added by the increase of rear grip from the back tires. How bad will it be? Since I am also adding grip up front, wouldn't the overrall grip be better than what I have currently and thus be a net improvement in handling?
2) Am I future proofing myself by going big in the back if I plan on adding really big power adders ie twin turbos etc? Being able to put down the power better out of the turns?

Thanks for your time!
Old 09-14-2013, 04:12 PM
Fox Fader
2nd Gear Member

Dang, no replies. I'm interested in some answers from the fiduciaries here.
Old 09-14-2013, 11:53 PM
danzcool
5th Gear Member