SVT Forums

99 cobra shakes durring acceleration

Old 11-06-2013, 09:07 PM
djcondo
2nd Gear Member

Default 99 cobra shakes durring acceleration

Hey all,
Just got a 99 cobra and i notice that it shakes a little under acceleration. If i rev the car there is no vibration whatsoever but when i am back in gear and accelerating it shakes. I have already checked the driveshaft u joints and they seem fine and have found and replaced one cross axis joint. The car has 165k on it..

Also there is a slight clunk in the front end somewhere when hitting the brakes hard or it is sometimes heard when turning

Let me know please, I am new to the cobra world
Old 11-09-2013, 03:25 AM
JC316
4th Gear Member

There are a lot of things to check, my money is on a motor mount, especially with 165k. Check the motor mounts, the transmission mount, possibly a wheel bearing, possibly the other CV shaft.
Old 11-11-2013, 06:42 PM
djcondo
2nd Gear Member

Ok so I found out what the clunk was but still have the driveline vib. The bell housing was coming into contact with the K member brace. I threw a washer on the brace and no more clunk but still a vim under harder accel. The trans mount seems real tight i can not move the tail of the trans
Old 11-11-2013, 10:21 PM
JC316
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by djcondo
Ok so I found out what the clunk was but still have the driveline vib. The bell housing was coming into contact with the K member brace. I threw a washer on the brace and no more clunk but still a vim under harder accel. The trans mount seems real tight i can not move the tail of the trans
I'm absolutely certain it's the motor mount now. If it's hitting that brace, then the mount is broken and needs to be replaced.
Old 11-12-2013, 06:18 PM
djcondo
2nd Gear Member

how much space should be between the two?
Old 11-13-2013, 12:37 AM
JC316
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by djcondo
how much space should be between the two?