Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Which tires should I get? need help

Old 12-14-2013, 02:57 PM
mustang green skin
2nd Gear Member

Question Which tires should I get? need help

As the title states, I'm looking for tires and winter is coming...

My plan is to go for all seasons and I have been perfectly happy with the oem pirelli's unfortunately no one stocks them around me and I don't have the time to wait for them to be shipped in. The car is a v6 pony package with 50,000 miles and I'm not a professional driver so I don't need anything special but I would like to at least keep the same performance and handling as the pirelli zero nero if not better.

I got some quotes from local shops and this is what they told me:

Cooper cs4 touring - $620

Goodyear Assurance ComforTred Touring - $610

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric A/S - $790

What do you guys think/recommend? Suggestions? Other tires to consider?
Old 12-14-2013, 03:23 PM
Nuke
6th Gear Member

I'd go with a dedicated winter tire for you location. AS's suck when you really need traction and dedicated winter tires are hands-down 10 times better than AS's. Just get a set of dedicated winter wheels sometime later and swap the winter tires over to them.
Old 12-14-2013, 06:10 PM
mustang green skin
2nd Gear Member

The current tires are down to the wear bands and I've driven several winters with my current all-season tires and have been just fine. Maybe snows are that much better but I need an all-season replacement for now. Thanks for the suggestion though.
Old 12-15-2013, 09:38 AM
Nuke
6th Gear Member

In that case, I'd use the rating info on tirerack.com for tires in any given category. AS tires are simply a trade-off in characteristics. After spending thousands of dollars on your ride, it's silly to quibble over a couple of hundred that can easily help keep it out of the body shop.